DENISE RICHARDS TELLS ALL

Denise Richards was spotted heading to The CW Studios in New York City early this morning (October 27) amid more lurid allegations about her former husband, Charlie Sheen.

Sheen allegedly trashed his suite in the Plaza hotel, New York, in the early hours of Tuesday morning. It is claimed the star is heading back to rehab after he was found allegedly drunk and naked in his room.

Denise was married to the troubled actor from 2002 to 2006 and the couple have two children.

Earlier in the day, Denise appeared on the fourth hour of the Today show where co-hosts Hoda Kotb and Kathie Lee Gifford immediately launched into questioning about her ex-husband and the incident that landed him in an NYC hospital. Denise kept her composure, even though it was clear she preferred to talk about her new show, Blue Mountain State, which she was there to promote.

A few highlights from the interview:

On rumors about the incident: The thing that I will say is that I did not call 911. Other than that, the details of what went on in the room, what went on that night, I prefer to keep private and personal. My daughters (Sam, 6, and Lola, 5) are very unaware of what happened and I’m really trying to protect them. This is Charlie. If he wants to discuss it, then I’ll let him do it, but other than that, at the moment, I don’t want to say anything.

On the rest of their New York trip: I’m just happy to be in New York. I had this trip planned for months to promote the show, and, more importantly, my daughters have never been here. We had a great time. They got to see New York. We went to Mary Poppins and FAO Schwartz and all of that. I’m a mom and that’s the most important thing. … We came out here together. (Sheen) was with us when we saw Mary Poppins. He and I took them to the museum and shopping, so we had a great time. The girls are unaware of anything, so as far as they know, they had a great time with their mom and dad in New York.

On protecting her children: I have a lot of faith in my ex and I am concerned about our children. My concern is to keep them protected. Thank God they’re five and six and they still cannot just turn on the computer or the television to watch the news. That’s where my priority is, is keeping them safe and secure and not know what went on. They’re at an age where thank God, they can’t really figure that out and watch what’s going on.

On dealing with adversity: I’ve been through a lot and I’ve learned, you pick yourself up, you move forward. I have an obligation to promote the show. I wanted to stick with that; I’m very proud of it. I’m professional, so that’s why I’m here and wanted to continue doing that. I’m a strong woman and I want to be a good role model for my girls. Things happen. I can’t control what happens. … I can either dwell on it and feel a certain way, or you just pick yourself up and move forward.

On her future with Sheen: Charlie will always be a part of my life. We are bonded together forever and no matter what the situation is, he’s their dad. It was unfortunate what happened. I can’t control what happened, all I can do is move forward. I control my house and the girls. They’re happy, beautiful children.

On her upcoming book: Mine isn’t a tell-all. It’s not going to be salacious. A lot of (people) ask me how I got through a difficult time and I really think it’s important to … take the high road and move forward.

Leave a Reply

