RICKY MARTIN: BORDERS BOOKS BABE

Ricky Martin was busy promoting his new memoir Me at Borders Books & Music, Columbus Circle in New York City today (November 3).

Dressed casually in jeans, a leather jacket and a matching beanie, the singer-turned-author spent nearly two hours meeting fans and signing autographs as he sold book after book of his new tell-all.

Ricky kicked off his book tour with an apperance on Oprah yesterday where the told the talk show host that mother knew about her son’s homosexuality long before he told her his big secret.

The Livin’ La Vida Loca star “came out” publicly earlier this year, more than a decade after he first approached his mum and told her about his sexual orientation.

And Ricky admits when he went to make his confession, he realized his mother had known all along.

In his chat with Oprah, Ricky revealed: “(My mother asked me) ‘Kiki, are you in love?’ ‘Yes, Mami,’ I answered, ‘I am completely in love.’ ‘Aaaah,’ she said. ‘And is it a man that you are in love with?’ ‘Yes, Mami. It’s a man’.”

That said, Ricky enjoyed numerous affairs with women in the years before he accepted his homosexuality, admitting he was on a mission to date “every woman” who crossed his path.

He writes, “I spent a couple years (in the late 1990s) acting like the typical alpha male, a total ladies’ man. I was young and famous, I was an artist, and I made it my business to go out with every woman who crossed my path… (I had) experiences with men… (but) they always left me feeling guilty, so I didn’t want to think about them…

“Ever since I can remember, I have felt a strong attraction to men, and although I can say I have also felt a strong attraction to and chemistry with women, it is a man who ultimately awakens my most instinctual, animal self.”

Leave a Reply

