KELLY PRESTON DOES ‘HEALTH’

Kelly Preston shares her happiness in the September issue of Health, hitting newsstands on Friday.

Some highlights:

On how she got through the death of her son, Jett: “Johnny is definitely my rock. Kirstie (Alley) is one of my absolute best friends. My mom, my brother. And to be honest, the Scientology center. I don’t know if I would have made it through without it.”

On the birth of her son, Benjamin: “We [had been trying] for quite a few years…When I found out I was pregnant, I was floored. I’d snuck out of bed and then came back and woke Johnny up in bed. We both started crying. It was wonderful.”

Did you have any reservations about having another baby? “I didn’t have any doubts. I love being pregnant. I love the closeness I feel when I’m carrying them. I love feeling them move inside me. My heart breaks for people who aren’t able to have kids. But I feel like there’s really hope for anyone.”

How would you describe yourself as a mom? “Very hands-on. I absolutely adore my kids. Johnny and I love them up constantly. Ella’s like, ‘Mom, ugh! Thank god you had Ben because now he can take some of the kisses!’ And Johnny sings to them—a lot of Tony Bennett and Barbra Streisand.”

When times are tough, who is your rock? “Johnny is definitely my rock. Kirstie (Alley) is one of my absolute best friends. My mom, my brother. And to be honest, the Scientology center. I don’t know if I would have made it through without it. We’ve been able to navigate through it and to come to a place that is a lot better.”

What’s the secret to a happy 20-year marriage? “We check in with each other: What’s wanted and needed? We keep it alive and playful and fun. And we don’t push each other’s buttons.”

What will you tell Ella and Ben about drugs? “I’ve already started on education: what drugs do to your body and how they are addictive. There was this fallacy in Hawaii, where I grew up, that pot’s not addictive, and that it’s natural, and all this other B.S. I went from that to…bam!”

Leave a Reply

